Provider Cancellation (Abandonment) Policy

Modified on Mon, 27 May 2024 at 03:44 PM

TABLE OF CONTENTS


Overview


As per our Software Licence Agreement, when you accept a booking request through our platform, you become contractually obliged to provide the service (as specified by the client in the booking details) to the client.


We understand that plans can change and you may have to cancel / abandon a booking offer you accepted, and depending on the progress, there are different options available. Our policy is required to maintain and protect the integrity of our platform and cover the costs involved in the event of a cancellation.


In the event that a client cancels a booking, providers may be eligible for full or partial payment. Read the Client Cancellation Policy for more details.



Why do cancellation fees and charges exist? 

We have cancellation fees in place to ensure everyone on the platform (clients and providers) have a consistent, reliable and pleasant experience, respecting each other's time and expectations, and ultimately holding each other accountable to high standards.


As industry professionals and business owners yourselves, we're sure you're aware that one of the biggest problems in the industry is cancellations - and unfortunately, it happens on both sides and it affects everyone.

Based on our experience and data from over 150,000 bookings, reducing therapist cancellations result in increased client retention, which then means more bookings and income for therapists on the platform. We also know that cancellation fees are a very effective tool to help us reduce cancellations and increase client retention (and therapist earnings) as a result. So, ironically, the cancellation fees actually help the therapists, not just a single one, but all, collectively.

Fees and charges

Cancelling / abandoning a confirmed booking offer may incur a fee to be paid by you to Blys. This fee will either be deducted from your earnings through our platform or the event that you don't have sufficient funds, it will remain as a negative balance in your account until you have funds. Please also note cancelling jobs may affect the completion rate of your account.


$0

  • If the provider cancels / abandons a confirmed booking but then accepted again within 10 minutes.



25% of the total platform licence fee

  • If the provider cancels / abandons a confirmed booking more than 24 hours before the scheduled booking start time.
    • If you're a provider on a Diamond tier, you have 1 free pass per calendar month (as per the tiered model structure). You are allowed to cancel once per month without incurring a platform fee as long as the booking is outside of the 24h penalty period.



50% of the total platform licence fee

  • If the provider cancels/abandons a confirmed booking between 24–4 hours before the scheduled booking start time.



100% of the total platform licence fee

  • If a confirmed booking is cancelled by the provider less than 4 hours before the scheduled booking start time, or as a result of a provider no-show.
    • If a provider is more than 20min late, the client has the right to cancel the booking if they choose to. This will be considered a no-show by the provider and will accrue a cancellation fee of 100% of the total platform licence fee for the provider.



Corporate bookings


If a provider cancels a corporate job within 72 hours of the confirmed start time twice, OR they receive less than 3-star ratings (1 or 2 stars) for corporate jobs twice, they lose access to future corporate bookings.


Couple/Group bookings


If a provider abandons a confirmed group booking (including couples massage bookings), and that booking gets cancelled as a result of the provider abandoning it, the below charges are deducted from their account balance:

  • The payout amount for other providers (or providers) to compensate for the loss of other provider's income

  • The Blys platform fee for all jobs to recover Blys's admin costs

  • 25%, 50% or 100% - depending on how late they abandon (less than 4h, or between 4h-24h, more than 24h)



Reasons for Abandoning a Job in the Pro App


Accepted by mistake

We understand that plans change, so we strongly recommend checking your schedule prior to accepting a booking. 


Learn what to do if I'm running a little late to my appointment.


If you abandon for this reason:

  • You will incur a fee
  • It will affect your completion rate
  • You may lose access to corporate bookings



Changed my mind

If you abandon for this reason:

  • You will incur a fee
  • It will affect your completion rate
  • You may lose access to corporate bookings



Client no-show

Providers must allow up to 20 minutes from the scheduled start time for the client to arrive.

  • If the client arrives within the 20-minute window, the provider is only required to work up to the scheduled end time; however, they may choose to extend the session at their discretion.
  • After 20 minutes have elapsed, the client is considered a ‘no-show’ and the provider will receive the full payment for the service.


If you abandon for this reason:

  • You will receive full payment
  • It will not affect your completion rate


Learn what to do if a client is running late.



Client payment still pending

This option will only be available if the client’s payment is still pending after being accepted and confirmed by a provider. 


If a client’s payment for a booking fails, they are immediately notified and given time in their app to settle their payment. Failure to settle their payment within the given time, the booking is automatically cancelled. 


Providers do not receive payment for confirmed bookings cancelled within the booking window due to unsettled payment.


If you abandon for this reason:

  • You will not incur a fee
  • It will not affect your completion rate



Partner pro not confirmed

This option will only be available if there is more than one provider on a booking and other providers are not confirmed.


If you abandon for this reason:

  • You will not incur a fee
  • It will not affect your completion rate


If a provider abandoned a confirmed couple or a group booking (private or corporate), the provider who abandoned the job covers the entire booking price including;

  • Blys platform fee for the whole booking and,
  • Other providers' service fees for that booking.


Client decided to cancel

The provider can select this for abandoning the job for the reasons below. 

  • The provider arrived at the location and the client decided to cancel. 
  • The provider received a chat from the client requesting to cancel the booking. 


Once the provider has selected this reason, a confirmation will be sent to the client confirming the cancellation and will be subject to our Client Cancellation Policy.



Client contra-indication

At the time of booking the client is required to indicate any pre-existing conditions, illnesses, injuries or allergies which would be considered contra-indications. If the client has failed to do so and you must abandon the booking for this reason:

  • You will not incur a fee
  • It will not affect your completion rate


When abandoning a job in the pro app for this reason, please select 'other' and add the details of the client contra-indication in full for our review and correspondence with the client.


However, if the client did indicate their pre-existing conditions, illnesses, injuries or allergies in the booking details - and you accepted that booking request but later decided to cancel:

  • You will incur a fee
  • It will affect your completion rate



Other

If your reason doesn’t fit into one of the existing pre-defined categories - e.g. you are sick or unwell, or any other personal reason - you can choose "Other".


To avoid cancellation fees, we recommend using the in-app messaging feature to contact your client as soon as possible and request to reschedule your booking to a future date. If they do not accept your request to reschedule, or if choose to proceed with a cancellation:

  • You will incur a fee
  • It will affect your completion rate
  • You may lose access to corporate bookings




How to abandon/ cancel a booking from the Blys Pro App?


  • Go to "Upcoming" then select the booking that you need to abandon
  • Select "Cancel"
  • Choose the "readon for abandoning" a booking
  • Click "Confirm"







Was this article helpful?

That’s Great!

Thank you for your feedback

Sorry! We couldn't be helpful

Thank you for your feedback

Let us know how can we improve this article!

Select atleast one of the reasons
CAPTCHA verification is required.

Feedback sent

We appreciate your effort and will try to fix the article